Menu

FROM FREE CHURCH TO LUXURY RETREAT

The Station Hotel has a rich history as part of the Rothes community stretching back more than a century.

In its heyday, it was the place for the rich and well-heeled to stay while travelling north to fish for salmon in the bountiful River Spey.

So restoring the site to do justice to that heritage, while creating something contemporary that would act as a hub for the local community, and attract visitors from further afield was no small task.

1899

Plans approved for a 13-bedroom hotel on site of a shop, two houses, a free church and free church school.

1901

The hotel, designed by George Sutherland on the corner plot, is completed. The first hotelier was John Grant.

1950s - 1960s

These were the hotel’s glory days where it was not unusual to see Rolls Royces parked at the front as the Spey’s renowned fishing attracted wealthy guests from across the country.

Mid 1990s

Following a number of changes of ownership, the hotel was renamed the Ben Aigen.

2006

The Ben Aigen Hotel closed.

2016

Richard and Heather Forsyth reopen The Station Hotel after an extensive restoration project.

Subscribe

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news and
offers from The Station Hotel in Speyside.

Subscribe